Skip to content

Repost: When I’m 64 . . .

July 19, 2011

When I’m 64 . . .

That’s the Beatles song I wanted played at my wedding nearly 26 years ago. 64 is not as old as it seemed then! And it’s magical sharing your life with someone you love, learning from each other, experiencing the joys and facing all the challenges you encounter together.

This song bounces though my brain every once in a while because of both the lyrics and the melody. “When I’m 64” is a about the little pleasures, personal gestures, responsibilities, and simple moments of sharing your life. At first it sounds like it’s just a fun song about being older, and not very profound. When I took a closer at it, I saw significant insights embedded in the words – whether Paul McCartney realized it or not when he wrote the song at age 16:

When I get older losing my hair,
Many years from now,
Will you still be sending me a valentine
Birthday greetings bottle of wine?

If I’d been out till quarter to three
Would you lock the door,
Will you still need me, will you still feed me,
When I’m sixty-four?

The focus is on the small things that mean a lot, that say “I care” and “I love you . . . flaws and all.” These gestures are important at any age.

I could be handy mending a fuse
When your lights have gone.
You can knit a sweater by the fireside
Sunday mornings go for a ride.

Doing the garden, digging the weeds,
Who could ask for more?
Will you still need me, will you still feed me,
When I’m sixty-four?

These stanzas are about the little things we can do that make life easier for each other, and sharing small joys.

Every summer we can rent a cottage
In the Isle of Wight, if it’s not too dear
We shall scrimp and save
Grandchildren on your knee
Vera, Chuck, and Dave

This one emphasizes the importance of living within our means as well as savoring the simple pleasures of life and helping nurture the newest generation.

Send me a postcard, drop me a line,
Stating point of view.
Indicate precisely what you mean to say
Yours sincerely, Wasting Away.

Give me your answer, fill in a form
Mine for evermore
Will you still need me, will you still feed me,
When I’m sixty-four?

No matter one’s age or how long you have shared your life, communication and commitment remain essential to making and keeping the bonds healthy.

I have come to believe that it’s the daily thoughtfulness, consideration, and affection that we demonstrate that really make relationships work and  joyful. It’s about giving from the heart and receiving with grace and genuine appreciation.

You need not wait until you are 64, if you’re not there already. These principles are universal, they are vital to developing and sustaining meaningful and fulfilling relationships at every age. And relationships are precious.

Steve Weitzenkorn


Our book, Find Fulfill Flourish, was named a Finalist in the Self Help category of the 2011 Next Generation Indie Book Awards. Ben Bolch of the Los Angeles Times calls it “an inspirational tour de force” Click here to purchase it. Click here for an overview and here for a free sample chapter. Book readers also receive FREE access to all premium exercises and content on our website.

Take the FREE Guiding Values Exercise.

Copyright © 2011, F3 Forum LLC. All rights reserved.


Leave a Reply

